Busting a Relatively Lame Wachovia Phish
There are so many of these that flood our inboxes nowadays it's hard to determine which ones are worth mentioning. We're calling attention to this one (click the link below) because of two easy-to-spot clues: bad spelling and grammar, and a contrived, silly domain name.
Here's the phish:
------------------------
Second Warning
Because you did not respond to our first warning security adviser we were obligated to change your account status.
We have to do this for the safety of your account and your personal informations.
New Account Status:
Account temporary inaccesible
So you can gain again full access to your online account you need to follow the steps on our secured website bellow:
http://www.warning-cen-ter-wachovia.com/
This is now your second warning, if you will not follow this steps we will be forced to disable your account.
After this steps are done an Wachovia reprezentative will call you so you can finish this security measurements.
-----------
So, clearly, whoever wrote this is struggling mightily with English grammar. Wachovia, one of the largest banks in the U.S., is probably not going to employ someone with this poor command of the language to write its letters. Note also the misspellings: "inaccesible," "bellow," and the somehow appealing "reprezentative."
Finally, note the URL: http://www.warning-cen-ter-wachovia.com/
No one in their right mind at Wachovia is going to use a URL like that, with "warning center" broken up by hyphens. The spammers no doubt were trying to find usable domain names that weren't already taken by Wachovia itself. Domain references such as this shouldn't be allowed, but that's another story.