Questionable Practices by Profitlance.com
Here’s yet another letter we recently received concerning potential work-at-home scams.
I was wondering if you know whether or not the following online work at home programs are legitimate: Michael Andrews' Profit Lance, or The Process at Home System. Do you know where I can find whether or not a program is legitimate?
Earl
Since this is a two-part question, we'll examine Profit Lance today and take a look at the Process at Home System next week.
Unlike most of the work-at-home sites we review, Michael Andrews' Profit Lance does disclose an address, though not completely. At the bottom of each page on his site is the following address: Profitlance.com, Netmedia Marketing, 70 Brunswick Street, Cleveland TS18 1DW. The average American would assume this must be Cleveland, Ohio, but the postal code isn't American or Canadian. In fact, it’s in northeast England, in a town called Stockton-on-Tees.

At the bottom of every page is the claim “techniques and methods as covered on” along with logos for CBS MarketWatch, Forbes.com and CNN.money. None of the logos are hyperlinked and when we searched each of these sites, we found nothing on Forbes, and nothing but sponsored links on MarketWatch and CNN.
A WHOIS search of the site's ownership revealed a private registration by proxy. In other words, Michael Andrews (if that’s really his name) is hiding his true identity. And although he posts plenty of pictures of himself on his “lifestyle” page, you never see his face, only his feet (resting on table, kicking a soccer ball, dangling in the surf), his hands (wielding a ping pong paddle) or shots from behind (clearing a high jump—we’re serious, check it out).
As for his site, it’s full of the usual promises of easy riches, along with "proof," testimonials, and a bottomless homepage full of eye-catching reasons why you should send Michael $77 so you can “start living the life you’ve always been dreaming about.”
We didn’t find any mention of profitlance.com on ripoffreport.com, and we did run across a few positive reviews of this site in various online forums, which doesn’t say much, since many of these work-at-home sites typically seed these forums to promote themselves.
But we did find one glowing review from Consumer Reports. Problem is, it’s an imposter site called "Reviews, Consumer Reports," obviously designed to fool consumers into thinking it’s the real thing.
All things considered, we’d pass on profitance.com.
Comments
I, too, am a member and have not logged in for a few days because of the malware warning. I have sent an e-mail inquiry but have not heard back. So. . . what do I do now?
Posted by: Galen | July 24, 2009 05:45 PM
I am a member of Profit Lance. I have been a member since last Fall, 2008. I have not been on the website since Feb or March and when I tried to go to the Profit Lance Members Login page I was warned by Google it was a reported Attack Site.
Do you have any current information on the site and the possibility it is an Attack Site?
Posted by: Frank | July 23, 2009 03:04 AM
I to have bought this viedo. there seems to be alot of information. for one that is very new to all this, the he programs that they use,just seems to skip parts of what I feel I should know. I get very confused. Maybe I just need a course for dummies. I not out to make millions. But need to have some income for my family.
Posted by: annette | June 4, 2009 05:42 PM
Regarding my last post - Please note that after a long telephone conversation I have been assured by Expats Direct that they are in no way affiliated with Profit Lance. I have been assure by Expats Direct that they are a company of good repute and are now themselves concerned about the similarity of the Logo. The manager of Expats Direct also informed me that the company that calls itself Netmedia Marketing is also known as Intermedium Marketing and IS run from Stockton Business Centre, UK. I have been told that the person who runs Netmedia Marketing/Intermedium Marketing is actualy a man of Asian background by the name of Amjid Rhafid, a far cry from Michael Andrews'! I would also like to point out that I am NOT 100% sure of all my facts including spellings of names, however I feel I have uncovered enough to highlight that there IS somthing shady about the operation. Stockton Business Centre has forwarded an email I sent them regading 'Michael Andrews' to Netmedia Marketing and I am now awaiting for a reply from 'Michael' himself - I promise I won't hold my breath.
Posted by: Danny | February 4, 2009 08:00 AM
I myself recently joined profit lance and on seeing your Blog I must admit I got very nervous! Being in the UK it was relatively easy to do some check ups myself. I phoned Stockton Business centre on 01642527933 and the lady confirmed that 'Netmedia Marketing' was resident at the business centre and I was given the number 01642345107 - however no answer! I then went through the list of 'current businesses' and came across the following company; Expats Direct Ltd www.expatsdirect.com I checked out the website and discovered that the website Logo is almost identical to Profitlance! On checking the contact details I found the following number 01642345111 - almost identical to the Profit Lance number and surprise, also no answer! Interesting! I have to admit that the package I bought seems to be good, however, am I just being naive? I will certainly do some more digging into the business before my money back guarantee runs out. Regards - Danny
Posted by: Danny | February 3, 2009 07:42 AM