Brioude-Internet Inc. May be a Bunch of Bull Merde
The following e-mail just showed up in our box:
Complaint: I am receiving emails from Brioude-Internet Inc. which says they will send me money to place ads in the u.s. and pay me to do this. Seems to good to be true, anyway I should receive my first check any day now...should I cash it or deposit it and place the ads, or is this a way to get my bank info.
Thanks.
Cari
Although Brioude-Internet Inc. is a French company, we ran the homepage though Google’s handy language tools, and despite some inevitable glitches, it seems they’re in business of search-engine optimization, among other things.
Being a French company, we couldn’t check them out via the Better Business Bureau, but we did find their name on a French site listing ”blacklisted links” to avoid. Brioude is listed on the very bottom of the page.
We also found an interesting entry on Rip-off Report, which was just updated today, under the heading: “Brioude-Internet Sending fake cashiers checks Budapest Internet. *UPDATE *UPDATE Latest email threatening to take legal action.”
According to the complaint, Brioude is ostensibly looking for Americans to post classified ads in U.S. newspapers, for which they will them send them cashiers checks, paying them $100 for each ad. The detailed posting (complete with various e-mails from Brioude) is well worth reading, since the author clearly smelled something fishy early on and kept stringing Brioude along to see what would happen.
But we'll cut to the chase and show you how it ends:
“Hilarious! It keeps switching emails and then...weird! they want me to wire transfer money instead of placing an ad! I am sorry but if you fell for this, you're a bit of a moron....
Today I received the 'cashiers check'...which isn't a cashiers check at all...people, just because the check is printed instead of handwritten doesn't make it a cashiers check. To top it off...the emvelope is postmarked from BUDAPEST, HUNGARY...not France, which is where the 'company' is supposed to be located. I hope these dumba**es get caught...
Monika
Fort Worth, Texas
U.S.A.
Comments
Hello Cari,
I introduce myself to you. I work for the Brioude Internet company. After testing “Brioude internet” keyword on Google.com, I have seen your post.
The email that you received is a scam and does not come from our company. Moreover, we do not have facilities in Hungary.
Brioude Internet is a search engine optimization firm located Brioude, France.
To stop the fraudulent use of our brand, we will quickly sue these scammers.
Best regards
Yves Weber
Customer Director
Brioude Internet Référencement
Largelier - BP 46
43101 Brioude Cedex
FRANCE
Email : info@brioude-internet.fr
Posted by: Yves Weber | April 16, 2009 09:15 AM